Discussion of EMC Agency Representation and Recommendations

The structure of the committee (co-chairs, terms, number of seats, designation of monitoring community seats, and identity of agency representatives) was established by the EMC/Board of Forestry & Fire Protection and may be altered by a quorum of the Board of Forestry & Fire Protection ('Board'). Recommendations for changes to committee structure may be made to the Board by the EMC.

Per the EMC Charter:

"The Board shall appoint EMC members and agency representatives 1 that: (1) have scientific and natural resource professional backgrounds, (2) have demonstrated previous collaboration in resource monitoring or scientific studies, and (3) are willing to serve on the EMC. Members participate in formal votes and agencies may provide no more than one individual to act as a committee member. Additional persons may serve as agency representatives which function as technical consultants or EMC staff and may not vote.

Members should be capable of working collaboratively and developing work products in a timely manner. Members shall be appointed by the Board, with appointees having expertise in hydrology, geology, fluvial geomorphology, aquatic ecology, fisheries, forestry, fire ecology, wildlife management, and/or resource monitoring and sampling. In addition, members shall also have a working knowledge of the CA FPRs and forest management operations on private and state forestlands.

Members should be applied scientists or natural resource professionals with demonstrated previous collaboration in resource monitoring that can also represent a stakeholder group.

The EMC shall be a permanent Advisory Committee of the Board. The duration for original appointment to this committee is either two, three, or four years (i.e., mixed appointments). After the original term, all appointments convert to four-year terms. The role of the Co-Chairs is to provide leadership and coordination for the EMC. The Board shall appoint two Co-Chairs to four-year terms. One Co-Chair shall be a representative of either CNRA (Executive or the Departments housed under CNRA) or Departments under the California Environmental Protection Agency.

Agency representatives include: California Natural Resources Agency, California Department of Fish and Wildlife, California Geological Survey, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, State and Regional Water Quality Control Boards, National Marine Fisheries Service, USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Research Station, and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Agencies will assign a lead representative and a back-up representative. The Secretary for Natural Resources will be consulted regarding agency representation.

Status	SEAT TYPE	AFFILIATION	Additional Requirements	History
CO-CHAIRS				
OPEN SEAT	Co-Chair	EMC member	Must be a representative of either CNRA (Executive or the Departments housed under CNRA) or Departments under the California Environmental Protection Agency	Open since 01/2025
1. Ryan Hilburn	Co-Chair	Board of Forestry & Fire Protection	Member of the Board of Forestry and Fire Protection	Filled May 2025
MONITORING COMMUNITY				
2. Michael Jones, Ph.D.	Monitoring Community			
3. Mathew Nannizzi	Monitoring Community			
4. Sal Chinnici	Monitoring Community			
5. Matt O'Connor, Ph.D.	Monitoring Community			
6. Givonne G. Law	Monitoring Community			
7. Leander Love- Anderegg, Ph.D.	Monitoring Community			
8. OPEN SEAT	Monitoring Community			Open since 09/2021
AGENCY REPRESENTATIVES				
9. OPEN SEAT	USFS			Dr. Drury last attended meeting in 09/2022
10. OPEN SEAT	CAL FIRE			Open since March 2025
11. Ben Waitman, Ph.D.	CDFW			
12. OPEN SEAT	CNRA			Open since May 2025
13. Marjan Ghotbizadeh	SWRCB			
14. Izaac Russo	NCWQCB			
15. Jonathan Meurer	CVWQCB			
16. OPEN SEAT	NOAA NMFS			Open since April 2025
17. Bill Short				
18. OPEN SEAT	USFWS			Never filled

Currently, there are 18 seats (one co-chair is also a member of the monitoring community or agency representative).